I’m very pleased to have a copy of “Flagship:  The Cruiser HMAS Australia and the Pacific War on Japan” from Mike Carlton as my husband served in the Australia during the war and especially during the first kamikaze attack at Leyte Gulf.

I found Mike’s descriptions of the battle very graphic and more detailed about the casualties, the flaming oil and burns than David ever mentioned.  It must have been terrible to experience.

I was also interested in the early history of the first HMAS Australia and some of the goings-on in Melbourne in the immediate years after the 1914-18 war.  The returned servicemen at that time were really badly treated and were rioting in the streets.

I’ll write more when I’ve dug further into this very big book.

 

Leave a Reply

